The National Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility (NCEF) is operated by staff members at Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research. The Frederick National Laboratory Advisory Committee and an ad hoc NCEF working group provide strategic oversight and recommendations to the staff members.  


Ulrich BaxaUlrich Baxa, Ph.D.
Senior Microscopist

Ulrich Baxa earned his Ph.D. in Physical Biochemistry, and has research expertise in Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology. He has worked in cryo-EM laboratories for many years and has a strong background in structural analysis by electron microscopy and high resolution cryo-electron microscopy imaging.


Thomas EdwardsThomas Edwards, Ph.D.

Thomas Edwards earned his Ph.D. in Molecular Virology focusing on structural studies of intra-cellular virus induced membranes formed during infection by alphaviruses and flaviviruses. In addition to virology, Edwards has expertise in electron tomography and single particle cryo-EM.


Adam WierAdam Wier, Ph.D.

Adam Wier earned his Ph.D in structural and molecular biology with a focus on structural studies of protein complexes regulating transcription. He has experience in single particle cryo-EM, including sample preparation, data collection, and data processing.


Matt HutchisonMatt Hutchison
IT Support

Matt Hutchison earned his BS in Chemistry and has significant experience developing backend and web applications in a variety of languages.  In addition, he has knowledge of data management and system administration, and has a background in laboratory auditing and materials testing.


Helen WangHelen Wang, MBA, PMP
Scientific Project Manager

Helen Wang earned her MBA with a focus in project management and holds a PMP certification. She has worked in academic research in pharmacology, physiology and biophysics. In addition, she has worked in infectious disease research in government labs, and has private industry experience in project management on government contract projects.


Sriram SubramaniamSriram Subramaniam, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor

Sriram Subramaniam, the founding director of the National Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility, now serves as its scientific advisor. He is currently a professor at the University of British Columbia. 





Frederick National Lab Advisory Committee (FNLAC) reviews the state of research at the Frederick National Laboratory and makes recommendations for the best use of its capabilities and infrastructure.


An ad hoc advisory committee composed of members of the cryo-EM and structural biology communities provides advice to the NCI on operational aspects of the facility. The advisory committee members are listed below.

Ad Hoc NCEF Working Group Chair

Steven J. Ludtke, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
Co-Director, National Center for Macromolecular Imaging, Center for Computational and Integrative Biomedical Research 
Baylor College of Medicine 
Houston, Texas

Ad Hoc NCEF Working Group Members

L. Mario Amzel, Ph.D. 
Professor, Director, Department of Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry 
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 
Baltimore, Maryland

Edward H. Egelman, Ph.D. 
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics 
University of Virginia School of Medicine 
Charlottesville, Virginia

Angela M. Gronenborn, Ph.D. 
UPMC Rosalind Franklin Professor and Chair, Department of Structural Biology 
Professor, Department of Bioengineering, Swanson School of Engineering 
Director, Pittsburgh Center for HIV Protein Interactions 
University of Pittsburgh 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Stephen C. Harrison, Ph.D. 
Giovanni Armenise-Harvard Professor of Basic Medical Sciences, Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology 
Director, Center for Molecular and Cellular Dynamics, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 
Harvard Medical School 
Boston, Massachusetts

Grant J. Jensen, Ph.D. 
Professor of Biophysics and Biology, Division of Biology and Biological Engineering 
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 
California Institute of Technology 
Pasadena, California

Piermaria J. Oddone, Ph.D. 
Director Emeritus 
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory 
Healdsburg, California

Z. Hong Zhou, Ph.D. 
Director, Electron Imaging Center for NanoMachines 
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics 
Member, California NanoSystems Institute 
University of California, Los Angeles 
Los Angeles, California

Executive Secretary

Sara Hook, Ph.D. 
NCEF Program Officer 
National Cancer Institute 
National Institutes of Health 
Bethesda, Maryland